My Motor Cycle Diaries

Royal Enfield UK: The Bullet is unique in bein...

Royal Enfield UK: The Bullet is unique in being a machine of the 1950%u2019s but made today with the benefit of modern technology and a full national dealer network. Over 100 modifications have been made to the Bullet in the past 5 years but, with the exception of the indicators, it still looks the same as it did 50 years ago. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The interests of humans are far too complex than explainable. So, is the instance when it starts budding in the brain. For me, all along my life, the interests and hobbies used to vary, some stayed, few washed away, lucky ones kept on coming back.

In my early years, drawing used to amuse me, then in 2 years or so, I lost the skill to curve the lines. Then, the passion of reading started, which held on for quite a long period in my life, the one which still exists, constrained only by time limitations. Then, guitar, blogging, quizzing, travelling, so many such interests came and stayed with me on and off. And of course, today, I will be more interested in the hobby traveling as the blog topic suggests, about the intuitive branching it took.

My travel days started in 2006, after I got my job and started enjoying the freedom: both financially and on decision making. In those days, travel was just packing the backpack and to set to the road on bus or train. At least once in 3 months, I used to travel to a new place in the southern part of India. Then, after 2 years, ever since, I got my first car, and traveling made way to driving mode. The frequency of travel increased and I covered most parts of south India in a short span of 2 years.

Then, last year, my job took me to Iran for a year and it was my first international travel and I made most of the free time to wander and see the new country. I was so fascinated by the culture and beauty of the country that I almost covered 30% of the ‘best places to be seen’ in one year. But, even in those days, I never knew what was in the bag for me : The tryst with the Wind.

Once back in India, I somehow was driven my the old dream of owning a Royal Enfield Motorcycle and as the legend goes, I became the proud owner of Royal Enfield Classic 350 CC engine. And  thus started the frenzy of Motor cycle diaries or roadtrips.

The running in period of the bull kept me on bay (Still keeping me) and I started off with <100 one way rides. And last week, I made the first page of my diary with a day trip to Nandi Hills – a 85 KM drive from Bangalore city. With no biker pack in company and being lone wolf, my priority was to complete the ride than enjoying the spot. The first ride anxiety also, took me on for a while. Still, making the page 1 is the first step towards the start and I hope many more wonderful trips will add pages to my diary.

With the next post, I will start my photo travelogue and of course, the page 1 is “A drive to Nandi Hills”.

4 thoughts on “My Motor Cycle Diaries

    1. Shibu Nair Post author

      Sure Bushra,

      First account will be of Nandi Hills day out and my dream run is the Leh – Ladakh road trip which I am planning for next summer.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Motorcycle Diaries Page 1 – Nandi Hills, Bangalore | Pieces Of My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

