Wild Amazon : A Barbeque Fiesta in Chennai

My habit of not taking surprises when it comes to food is a very old one. Especially, when I am taking my friends or family to dinner. My experiments about a new joint is usually alone. I take chances and then review it. If it touches my heart, then I take the privilege to take my family and friends over there. Else, I wont recommend the same place to them.

But yesterday was different. The decision was quick. My wife and myself decided to have the dinner outdoors. I decided to go to the tried and tested Barbeque Nation in T Nagar. But to my bad luck(I don’t think so now), they had all their tables booked for the evening.

So, as an adhoc option, I booked a table at Al-Arab restaurant(Barbeque division of Wild Amazon), who specializes in barbeque buffet. The table was booked for 7:30 Pm and I reached there by 7:25 Pm.

DSC00221

The reception has good. My name was already there in the guest list. So, I straight away moved to the third floor. A quick left from the life corridor, and man, I was impressed. Beautifully lit table spaces and, spaciously arranged tables and waiters in traditional Arab wardrobes. ‘Al-Arab’, now I realized that it isn’t just a name. They mean it in all sense.

DSC00214

First, lassie(sugared butter milk) was served. I am not much of a fan of it. So, no comments. Next was a quarter of shawarma, slice of grilled chicken and a single piece of date filled with bits of cashew and resin. Each of the dish above as equally commendable. Special applause to that single piece of dates. I has never ever in my life tasted dates so fresh and sweet. For a moment, I was in a lushly green oasis, tasting dates right away.

Then a tray of blistering coal was placed in the space in the middle of table and grills of prawn, sear fish, chicken, vegetable delights including potato, mushroom, Paneer and mixed fruits were placed one after another. The recipes were authentic middle east delicacies and blended smoothly over my taste buds.

After I had enough of these grilled starters, I did not have much space to spread evenly on the main courses of the buffet. But I tasted all of the dishes on the menu and relished it very much. The idea of rotating few Indian cuisines every week added from spice to the Arabian serves.

3 thoughts on “Wild Amazon : A Barbeque Fiesta in Chennai

    1. Shibu Nair Post author

      This post was before I visted ‘Barbeque Nation’ in T Nagar. After that, I had been relishning in Barbeque Nation for many a times. I would suggest you to choose, Barbeque Nation.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

